TEARDROP by Lauren Kate

Never, ever cry… Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

20140728-202228-73348363.jpg

TEARDROP by Lauren Kate
I have been thinking about Teardrop and how I would write this review for some time now (admittedly not that long but longer than it normally takes me) reason being; I simply can’t decide if I love it or simply like it.

It isn’t a bad book at all, it’s intriguing and filled with suspense, romance, mystery and wonder. It’s definitely the sort of book I would read and I did enjoy it, like everything though I do feel that there were highs and lows to this book.

There were more highs than there were lows in Teardrop, the lows weren’t even that low however comparing them to the highs that I was absolutely obsessed with they seemed rather…mediocre in comparison.

Firstly, how beautiful is that cover! I love the covers Lauren Kate chooses, they simply draw you to her books and I feel it is fairly safe to judge her books by them. As I stated Teardrop is a good read, I don’t think it is better than Lauren’s previous series FALLEN which I completely fell in love with but Teardrop is good and I would read it again.

Books are like types of tea, you like some and dislike others, I feel that Teardrop is a cup of tea. You will either like it, love it or hate it. I’m on the like stage, leaning heavily towards the love side.

Lows of Teardrop
As I stated, there wasn’t much I didn’t like about Teardrop, the main problems to me were…
▪️Description
I personally don’t enjoy books that have endless paragraphs of description, in certain places of Teardrop I felt a little overwhelmed with all the detail added, however, in other places there was too little and I was left slightly confused.
Description was overused for ordinary things such as trees, rooms, ponds, ect but when it came to items that were “out of our world” such as air bubbles/shields I felt a little confused, I couldn’t quite relate and understand where and how these items worked.
▪️Wow, that suspense!
Suspense is good! It drives a story, keeps the reader interested…not always though when the suspense is upholding for over 300 pages and then blurted out in under 100. I had to take a break after beginning the unravel of the story, I was eager to get back but I needed time to make sense of it all.
🔲 As I stated, there wasn’t much I didn’t like about Teardrop but these two things stood out to me and did disrupt the flow of the book because I had to stop and reread a few sentences to understand what was going on or I had to take a break to let my mind make sense of it all.

Highs of Teardrop
◽️ Eureka
The protagonist was just amazing, she was “broken” in an emotional sense but I could still connect with her and she wasn’t pathetic. She also grew with the story, becoming stronger and stronger as time passed.
◽️ Ander (love interest)
I fell in-love with Ander from chapter one and anxiously waited his next appearance, which were always interesting and swoon worthy.
◽️The storyline
Main point of a book; tell a story.
Lauren Kate definitely delivered in that regard because the story line was highly enjoyable and very different to what I’m used to. There was mythology threaded into Teardrop and it made me keep coming back for more each time I set it down.

It was good, admittedly not the best book I have read but a good read and one I feel YA Fiction lovers would enjoy.

Any book that takes me over a week to finish is either huge or I didn’t enjoy it at all, in which case I don’t think I would finish it… Teardrop is a 441 page book (with Epilogue) and I read it in under 48hours…

Teardrop by Lauren Kate ⌛️48 hour read⌛️

Would I read it again? YES!
Will I read the next one? YES!
Will it be the first book I suggest to people? NO.

One thing I do feel I need to point out about this book is… There are many, many relatable quotes, sayings and paragraphs within it. Quotes that have etched into my brain and I doubt will ever leave, if that was Lauren’s intention, she has outdone herself.

20140728-211612-76572096.jpg

If you have read Teardrop please let me know, tell me your experience and if you enjoyed it or not. 🙂

Avid reader,
Kat Silver

One thought on “TEARDROP by Lauren Kate

Share your thoughts...

