Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

“You cant go back to the way things were.
How you thought they were.
All you really have…is now.”

Thirteen Reasons Why reminded me why I love books so, very much… This fantastic book reminded me how books, often, teach me more about life than people.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Thirteen Reasons Why made me cry, but I loved every second of it. I’m an emotional book reader, I know that but Thirteen Reasons Why seemed different. For once in my life, I wasn’t crying for the characters while reading this book, I was crying for everyone. Everyone in the entire world because I learnt so much while reading this book, I learnt about other people as well as myself and I got a different outlook on the world.

thirteen-reasons-why by Jay Asher

This book is technically written from two narratives, Clay Jensen and Hannah Baker.
Clay comes home to find a box of cassette tapes waiting at his door, recorded by his first love, Hannah Baker who killed herself just weeks before. There are thirteen tapes. Thirteen reasons she killed herself and Clay is one of them.
Just before Hannah committed suicide she recorded thirteen tapes which Clay listens to through out the story. What he discovers changes his life forever.

And it definitely changed mine as well.

Thirteen Reasons Why was riveting, with a wonderful story line and in depth characters that I felt I could really relate to.
I recommend Thirteen Reasons Why to anyone and everyone and I can almost guarantee that you will learn something about yourself or other people.
Because I loved this book so much and I’m doing quite a dreadful job at writing this review here are 13 reasons why I loved Thirteen Reasons Why!

1. I learnt that “everything affects everything”.
2. I was reminded that we have no idea what effect we have on people but we all impact each other.
3. I loved the idea of the book, the theme and lessons.
4. I loved its unique written style! I have never seen another book that has the main character listening to tape recordings through the entire book!
5. It was an easy but thoughtful read that really got me thinking.
6 It was so, very REAL! I felt as though I was listening to the cassettes the entire time and experiencing everything Hannah and Clay did.
7. The book felt like the perfect length. It wasn’t too long nor too short, it was P E R F E C T !
8. I was never bored with it! There was always something happening, something that kept me reading and reading and reading.
9. Even though there was always stuff happening it never felt rushed, the pace was really good.
10. Although dealing with “heavy” topics they were all dealt with so well, I didn’t once think of anything as being too graphic or too much.
11. It reminded me how much life matters, which I think everybody needs occasionally.
12. It can be read by a large variety of people. It was simple and to the point but done so beautifully.
13. I just loved it…! That should be a reason all on its own…

I read Thirteen Reasons Why in under 12 hours and give it 5 out of 5 stars.

thumb

I do hope that each and every one of you read it, I’m sure you will enjoy it.

Yours within the Bookworm Revolution,
Kat Silver

Share your thoughts...

