Review: The Faerie Guardian by Rachel Morgan

My mom compared The Faerie Guardian to The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Enough said.

Page one had me on the edge of my seat, completely in love and now that I’ve reached the end I want to go back and read it for the first time all over again.

From the very beginning you’re thrown into a magical world that Rachel Morgan has built up beautifully where there’s magic and power struggles and characters that will have you rolling on the floor laughing one second and ready to throw your book across the room the next!

Blurb:

Protecting humans from dangerous magical creatures is all in a day’s work for a faerie training to be a guardian. Seventeen-year-old Violet Fairdale knows this better than anyone—she’s about to become the best guardian the Guild has seen in years. That is, until a cute human boy who can somehow see through her faerie glamor follows her into the Fae realm. Now she’s broken Guild Law, a crime that could lead to her expulsion.

The last thing Vi wants to do is spend any more time with the boy who got her into this mess, but the Guild requires that she return Nate to his home and make him forget everything he’s discovered of the Fae realm. Easy, right? Not when you factor in evil faeries, long-lost family members, and inconvenient feelings of the romantic kind. Vi is about to find herself tangled up in a dangerous plot—and it’ll take all her training to get out alive.

Violet is a kickass heroine and you pick that up straight away. She’s tough, sassy and a Faerie that you’ll instantly love! Through the novel I found myself latching onto all the characters obsessively, as in, I LOVED THESE CHARACTERS! They’re quirky, relatable and many of them had me laughing out loud.

Some of my favourite moments include… (I just had to share these with you).

“Aren’t faeries supposed to be, like, really tiny? With wings and a wand and faerie dust?”

“I’m not Tinker Bell!”

“So you don’t have wings then?” he asks, completely ignoring what I just said.

“Sure I do. They’re in my pocket.”

“Really?”

“No!”

Early on you’re introduced to Nate – Nathaniel – the cute human boy who can see through glamor and follows Violet into the fae realm. He’s easy to love and epitomises the way I think any human would feel experiencing magic, monsters and a new realm for the first time while being a typical teenage boy.

“Well, this is cosy,” Nate says. He winks at me.

“Don’t get any ideas, Mr. Draven Avenue. Losing my concentration now would not be a good idea.”

“But you’re a girl. Can’t you multitask?”

“I refuse to let you talk me into a make-out session in a dodgy, underground tunnel. I have standards, you know.”

Violet does her best to get this boy out of her life, eager to fix things so that she can get back to training, doing assignments and upholding her feud with her ex-best friend and seemingly totally ass, Oryn – Ryn – who (don’t hate me) I absolutely adore!

But, as expected, things don’t work out the way Volet would like and with evil Faeries hunting her down things get far more complicated than Violet had previously thought possible.

The story develops and takes you on an adventure like no other, filled with action, tension, young adult romance and plot twists that will have you wanting to throw your book across the room.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and if it weren’t for school could have easily finished it in 12 hours.

5/5 stars!

I can see this easily being one of my favourite books…it’s that good.

Title: The Faerie Guardian

Series: Creepy Hollow

Author: Rachel Morgan

(who is SOUTH AFRICAN! #SouthAfricanPride)

Pages: 283 (first edition, physical copy)

Buying Links: The kindle version is FREE and you can get it right here.

Yours within the Bookworm Revolution,

Kat Silver

4 thoughts on “Review: The Faerie Guardian by Rachel Morgan

Share your thoughts...

