The BIG Question.

This is it, the question I have been dreading to answer for weeks on end…

“NaNoWriMo?”

For those of you who don’t know November is National Novel Writing Month and NaNoWriMo is an organisation that promotes and sets up a challenge for writers to write an entire 50,000 word novel in the month of November.

For years I’ve been encouraged to take part and every year I consider it. I consider diving into the world of constant writing, little sleep and hours of excitement. But, every year something…well, lots of somethings hold me back.

EXAMS.

Every year, in November, my school exams start and although (I’d much rather write myself a world to live in than face the harsh reality of hours of procrastination, stuDYING and writing exams) I see myself as a dedicated student. Which means, I CARE about exams, stuDYING and my results…and because I care about these things I’m always hesitant to join NaNoWriMo. There isn’t a doubt in my mind that if I start I’d definitely finish and have a book at the end of the day month but because I know myself, I’m sure that if I take part in NaNoWriMo I WILL.NOT.LEAVE.MY.LAPTOP.ALONE.

Yes, I’ll have a completed novel at the end of the month…but I’ll also have failed all of my exams.

So, the BIG question that many people have asked me is finally being addressed.

“NaNoWriMo?”

“NaNoWriMo NO.”

I will NOT be taking part in NaNoWriMo this year – but to everyone who is; good luck and may your words flow. Think of me while you’re creating your wondrous worlds and moulding words into masterpieces while I spend my time stuDYING and writing exams…

Yours within the Bookworm Revolution,

Kat Silver.

Share your thoughts...

